20 CHL Players Named to Canada’s National Summer Under-18 Team

 CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Tuesday the 22 players who will play for Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team at the 2011 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament, August 8-13 in Breclav, Czech Republic and Piestany, Slovakia.


CHL Players Named to Team Canada:



Domenic Graham, Drummondville Voltigeurs



Mathew Dumba, Red Deer Rebels

Slater Koekkoek, Peterborough Petes

Adam Pelech, Erie Otters

Derrick Pouliot, Portland Winterhawks

Griffin Reinhart, Edmonton Oil Kings

Morgan Rielly, Moose Jaw Warriors



Andreas Athanasiou, London Knights

Mathew Campagna, Sudbury Wolves

Brendan Gaunce, Belleville Bulls

Felix Girard, Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Charles Hudon, Chicoutimi Sagueneens

Scott Laughton, Oshawa Generals

Jarrod Maidens, Owen Sound Attack

Matia Marcantuoni, Kitchener Rangers

Sean Monahan, Ottawa 67’s

Kerby Rychel, Windsor Spitfires

Hunter Shinkaruk, Medicine Hat Tigers

Gemel Smith, Owen Sound Attack

Thomas Wilson, Plymouth Whalers




The roster was finalized Tuesday following Hockey Canada’s four-day selection camp at Father David Bauer Olympic Arena in Calgary. The camp included daily practices and three Red-White intersquad games.

Canada’s roster is made up of 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders. Head coach Steve Spott (Waterloo, Ont./Kitchener, OHL), assembled the roster with support from assistant coaches Mario Duhamel (St-Bruno, Que./Drummondville, QMJHL) and Don Nachbaur (Kitimat, B.C./Spokane, WHL), Kevin Prendergast, Hockey Canada’s head scout for the men’s Program of Excellence, and Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations/national teams.

“It was a very competitive camp, and choosing these 22 players was by no means an easy task,” said Spott. “All of the players named today have earned their spot on the roster, and we look forward to getting to Europe and continuing Canada’s great tradition at this event.”


Canada has won the Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament three straight years, and has won 15 of 20 summer under-18 tournaments since 1991. It will play in Group A in Breclav with the Czech Republic, Sweden and Switzerland. Group B, which consists of Finland, Russia, Slovakia and the United States, will play out of Piestany.

Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team breakdown

Two goaltenders, seven defencemen, 13 forwards

20 players from the Canadian Hockey League

12 players from the Ontario Hockey League

Five players from the Western Hockey League

Three players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League

One player from the Central Canadian Hockey League

One player from the Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec

20 players with experience in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence

Canada will face Slovakia in a pre-tournament game in Piestany on Saturday, August 6 before opening the tournament against Sweden on Monday, August 8. The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals on Friday, August 13, with the gold medal game scheduled for Saturday, August 14.



There will be no TV or radio coverage of the event. Hockey Canada’s official website,, is the place to find complete coverage of Canada at the tournament.


For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, please visit

More News
UWCNEO to Host 2nd Annual Charity Match in Support of Youth Mental Health
2 weeks ago
Wolves Exhibition Schedule Announced
2 weeks ago
Wolves Complete Trade with Attack
3 weeks ago
Wolves Add Two in CHL Import Draft
3 weeks ago
McCallum, Stillman and Larmand Invited to U17 Team Canada Development Camp
3 weeks ago
Byfield Invited to U18 Team Canada Development Camp in Calgary
3 weeks ago